Fine, I’ll Make My Own Up! Experimenting With Green Tomatoes.

It’s been a busy couple of days on the cooking front. Today I finished off a batch of Green Tomato Pickles. Call outs for recipes didn’t actually present any, maybe my followers aren’t cooks. Nonetheless, I pulled together a recipe using my mother’s memory of her pickle triumph and an internet recipe (from the site called Gourmet Getaways) for some of the proportions.

Below is the recipe for your experimentation. I don’t like sweet pickles so the sugar in this recipe is quite low, for even more tartness use half the amount I’ve used. If you want sweeter you can go up to 900 gms sugar (too sweet for me).

2 kg green tomatoes (washed, de-stalked and dried)
400 gms onions
9 tbsp salt

Dice the tomatoes and onions to similar sizes but keep separate. In the pan you will later use to cook everything up, layer 1/3 tomatoes, 1/3 onions and sprinkle 1/3 salt evenly over, repeat with remaining ingredients. Cover and leave this to sit overnight to help remove the excess liquid.

Next day drain your tomato and onion mix. Boil 2 kettles of water. Pour one over the mixture and drain again. Repeat with the other kettle of water, this is to try to get all the saltiness out of your pickle base.

Return your thoroughly drained tomatoes and onions to their pan and add:
450 mls white vinegar

Put on to stove and bring to boil. Once boiling cook for 10 mins (put the timer on) with the lid on.

Meanwhile mix:
3/4 cup flour (can use rice flour for gluten free)
1 tbsp turmeric
3 tbsp curry powder
300 mls white vinegar (added to dry ingredients to form a paste) in a separate bowl.
My paste was quite runny, I think the rice flour didn’t absorb the liquid as readily but it still worked as a thickening agent.

Once your tomatoes etc have cooked add:
1 cup sugar and dissolve (this is where you can change the sugar proportions for sweeter or tarter pickles).

Remove from the heat and add the flour and spice paste slowly to the hot mixture, making sure it’s all mixed in, no lumps etc, and stirred through. Once it is all added put your mixture back on the stove on a low heat and simmer gently for 10 mins, stirring or until you have your desired thickness.

Turn off the heat and let it cool a little before putting it into your sterilised jars. These proportions make 6 jars.

I think you can eat this almost immediately but I would let it sit in the jar for about a month to let the flavours settle and mature. It’s perfect for roast beef and cheese sandwiches or as a condiment with some of my favourite winter warmers, corned beef or pickled pork. I’ve already dropped one off to my sister and I have to give one to my other sister, who grew the tomatoes.

I hope you have fun experimenting with this recipe. My mum said it used to be very popular at the school fete.

Leave a Reply

